×
INDI Library v1.8.1 Released (09 Sep 2019)

Monthly maintenance release INDI v1.8.1

DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ?

5 years 11 months ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7405
Karma: 51
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #431
Ok, so I modified it to try to set the absolute exposure value (if the requested value is > 1 second), can you check if it works? But is this number "standard"? That is, how do we know what the absolute exposure value correspond to in seconds? is this uniform across all cameras or camera-specific?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #432
I have a problem with svn :

svn: E210002: Unable to connect to a repository at URL 'svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/indi/code/trunk/libindi

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #433
Ok it works now. For future updates, all I have to do is "svn update" in the directory ~/Projects?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7405
Karma: 51
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #434
Yes, in libindi directory. You can also pull 3rd party stuff:
svn co svn://svn.code.sf.net/p/indi/code/trunk

libindi will be under trunk, but you'll also find 3rdparty directory with all the 3rd party drivers.

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #438
Not easy to make a test in daylight ... I pointed the camera in a dark room. This is the result of a series of 10 images of 10 seconds set with Ekos.
2014-01-02T11:21:38: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068599 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:21:24: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068681 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:21:10: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068943 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:20:58: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068603 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:20:46: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068771 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:20:30: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068641 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:20:16: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068703 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:20:03: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068583 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:19:50: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068638 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:19:37: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.069084 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:13:49: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068649 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:13:35: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068710 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:13:23: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.075123 seconds. 
2014-01-02T11:13:08: Capture of ONE frame (1 stacked frames) took 10.068640 seconds.

There are sometimes small variations in brightness in the images produced. I do not see where it comes from. And some images (very few, the first or the last ones) are bugged (split image) :

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #440
I did a test. 5 images of 10 seconds. The exposure time is set with Ekos (level: 10 seconds), the first two images taken show a bug (split image). Other 5 pics 10 seconds, this time the exposure time is set directly in INDI, Level 100000 (in Ekos unchanged at 1 second exposure). Five correct images.
The exposure adjustment in Ekos is still unstable. But as long as it works in INDI, it is not too inconvenient.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #441
I ask myself: how to record an AVI video in INDI?
For planetary imaging...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
knro
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 7405
Karma: 51
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #442
Well, if you set the 10000 in INDI Control Panel, do you also set the exposure in INDI control panel to 10 seconds or leave it as 1?

Jasem Mutlaq
Support INDI & Ekos; Get StellarMate Astrophotography Gadget.
How to Submit Logs when you have problems?
Add your observatory info

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #443
I tried almost all combinations of exposure setting between INDI and EKOS with sequences of 5 images. In fact, the image display bugs appear randomly and are fortunately rare. The bugs are images divided over the entire height or only in the edge of the image.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #445
I managed to connect my DMK camera on Raspberry Pi. Having compiled the latest version of libindi, I launched the INDI server with the V4L2 driver. It works. There is only one thing that bothers me : the setting of exposure time when it is less than the second. In the EKOS window, CCD tab, adjusting the exposure time increases by 0.5 second. This is not a problem when the exposure time is greater than the second, but it is when it is lower. So I do not have the ability to tweak. I thought set with the INDI Control Panel via Exposure (absolute), but in this version of libindi as soon as I take a picture, the exposure value in EKOS is automatically selected and replaces the value entered in the INDI Control Panel .

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago
geehalel
Gold Boarder
Gold Boarder
Posts: 184
Karma: 16
More
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #446
Hi,
The driver has not been designed to manage long exposure cameras, only modded cameras. I think this could be the reason why you sometimes get bad images as the driver stops V4L2 streaming based on its own timer, and does not wait for the frame to be completed. This would ask some rewrite to take into account cameras that support long exposures. By the way, I confirm that the unit used in Exposure (Absolute) is 100µsec as stated by the V4L2 spec. I have a normal webcam which can set it to a max value of 10000, which is 1 sec. The behavior up to now was to stream, and eventually stack, frames for the period specified in the INDI Exposure settings. I think that the future behavior could be to test if the required exposure
- is lower than the max Exposure (Absolute) value, then take only one frame (don't use timer nor stack frames)
- otherwise use a timer and start streamng for the required period, eventually stacking frames.
This implies an implicit control by the INDI V4L2 driver of Exposure Mode and Exposure (Absolute). Maybe could we leave a switch to disallow this implicit behavior.
Concerning AVI recording, this is more a client-side feature. But it could be added to the generic CCD INDI class, but don't forget that the driver runs along with the INDI server, on your Raspberry for instance, so you would have to manage some storage at that place, and takes into account the computation overhead.
Jean-Luc.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

5 years 11 months ago 5 years 11 months ago by bilbo-le-hobbit.
bilbo-le-hobbit
Expert Boarder
Expert Boarder
Posts: 106
Karma: 1
More
Topic Author
DMK41 AU02.AS : How to configure it with INDI ? #471
When I make solar, lunar or planetary imaging, I record a movie in AVI (Y800). I need to fine tune the exposure time generally between 1/10000 and 1 second. The setting in EKOS is not accurate enough for that. It is simply not designed for that. When I do deep sky, I take series of images between several seconds and several minutes. The current setting is suitable in this case.
I hope this is not too complicated to rewrite :woohoo: part of V4L2 driver to be perfectly suitable for cameras with long exposures...
Added to this, if INDI also had the option AVI video recording, it would be really great. (it already is ;) )

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 0.429 seconds